The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-05-2010, 08:11 PM

Default Quest for the most visually beautiful tab

Hey there musical people! I don't know about you, but I travel a lot and am frequently frustrated because I never have my binder of sheet music for all the songs I've chorded out (particularly church songs). So instead of hauling my big binder of music around with me everywhere, it seems a good idea for me to simply put my music online so I can access it anytime from anywhere. And naturally if it's there online, I might as well share it with others. This has lead me to create GloryChords.com. Now this all leads me to my question…What are some ideas for making chorded music tabs look truly beautiful? Everything online is always bland monospaced courier. What would you like to see in a perfect guitar tab website? I know it doesn't matter in the long run, but I'm a designer by trade and if I'm gonna do it I wanna make it gorgeous! Appreciate any thoughts and feedback thanks!
Old 01-05-2010, 08:25 PM
The Foreigner

Can it really be called "tab" if only the chords are shown?
Transcriptions

(Yes, my PM Inbox is always full. For now, please send me an email at [my agf username]@gmail.com )
Old 01-05-2010, 08:27 PM

Yea, I don't really know what to call it. The chorded music stuff. We're all familiar with the plain jane courier stuff, there's just got to be a better more beautiful way to present it all!
Old 01-05-2010, 08:34 PM

Not really sure what you mean. However, if you mean what is the best way to present the tab, PDF always looks neat and tidy for me.
Old 01-05-2010, 08:46 PM

Man, I hardly know what I mean either. But you nailed it, presentation. PDF is one nice idea as it does allow for more visual customization.

I just want to combine the art of design and the art of music a bit more.
Old 01-05-2010, 08:51 PM