The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 03-12-2017, 09:19 AM

Default Another question about Travis picking

I'm half way trough the "Contemporary Travis Picking" book. I'm finding it very easy because I am already a finger style player. I am learning new patterns and a few other things I didn't know however.

In the book it says that you should use the ring finger for the high E string unless you need to shift to the upper strings and the bass note is therefore on the 4th string as in a D chord. It's usually not a problem but I am finding that some of the songs I do now are awkward using the ring finger on the high E. Can this rule sometimes be broken or should I force myself to do it all the time?

I'm a long time self taught player so no doubt have some bad habits.
Alvarez AF60SHB
Seagull Concert Hall Mahogany
Harmony H1215. 1953
An 80 year old Kay (approx)
Epiphone ES-339
Epiphone Les Paul 50's Standard
3 home built Strat's
Old 03-12-2017, 09:46 AM
Charter Member

My vote is that you do what's comfortable for you. I frequently use just two fingers on my right hand, the index and second, and move them in pairs between the E/B strings and the B/G strings. But for other songs, I use three fingers on my right hand, on each of the G, B and E strings. I think it depends on you and what the song requires.

Mark's books are great, aren't they?
Old 03-12-2017, 10:15 AM
Charter Member

I agree with Kerbie, but I recall that when learning Strawberry Curl from his other book, Art of Solo Fingerpicking, that if I didn't use his right hand fingering suggestions it was harder to play at performance pace. It was awkward at first for me, but it worked once I got used to it. Now that I haven't played his songs in years I just do what comes naturally .