The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-28-2017, 07:14 AM

Default Dust In The Wind

Hi all! I'm a beginner who started about 3 months ago and last week began learning this song. I appreciate its going to take some time so not expecting to have it down already but the change from G (bottom string 3rd fret with 3rd finger) to Dm7 (barring top two strings with 1st finger and 2nd finger on 3rd string) I find particularly challenging and I wondered if others also found it difficult when they were a beginner? I'm playing it slowly with metronome but even at 60 bpm (quite a lot slower than the song which is at 94 bpm) I struggle to make that particular change accurately.

I appreciate different people find different things challenging but interested to hear how others got on with this when they first learnt it and how long they had been playing before attempting it. I am not playing any of the vocal melodies just the travis picking underlying parts.

Thanks in advance!
Old 09-28-2017, 07:28 AM

I had trouble with this transition when I first learned it as well. You'll get there with practice. One thing that will help is if you transition to the DM7 in advance - so after you strike the G you should lift your fretting hand and be moving to the DM7 while you are plucking the open B, D, and G strings. With a little more practice you'll get it.
Old 09-28-2017, 07:29 AM

I'm also a beginner and I'm also learning Dust in the Wind. The arrangement I am learning doesn't have a G -> Dm7 transition, but it does have one that is similar.

I find it much easier to do this transition if I play the G chord using fingers 2, 3, and 4. Middle finger on the A string, Ring finger on the low E string, and pinky on the high E.
Old 09-28-2017, 07:33 AM
Charter Member

I would concentrate on mastering the basic chords before attempting partial or full barre chords.
Old 09-28-2017, 08:11 AM