The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-07-2016, 12:18 PM

Unhappy Barre chords never used to hurt....why now??

To clarify, I have been jamming on acoustic for about 10 years now and I consider myself to be fairly adept. I play a lot of Chet Atkins' jazz stuff. Anyway, as is usual, when I first started playing it hurt the muscle between my thumb and pointer finger when I played barre chords. After a year or so that went away as you would expect. Well all of a sudden, after a decade of playing, that pain is back and worse! It makes no sense. It doesn't happen right away, but after a song or so it gets pretty bad. Anyone have any ideas as to why or solutions? Thank you
Old 06-07-2016, 12:26 PM

Perhaps a bit of arthritis, I just turned 63 and it is something I just have to deal with.
Old 06-07-2016, 12:28 PM

It could be many things. Repetitive strain injury can build up over time and then seem to happen all at once. I have been having some issues in my fretting hand on the pinkie side and have had to take long breaks from playing the past few months (in fact, I just started tentatively testing it again after 5 weeks off and it is still quite tender). I just went for x-rays and ultrasound to see if they can pinpoint the issue so I can get better treatment.

My suggestion is to get someone knowledgeable to look at it. Internet diagnosis will help, but you won't get a 100% diagnosis here.
Old 06-07-2016, 01:01 PM

didn't get a new guitar with wider string spacing/neck did ya?
Old 06-07-2016, 01:56 PM

Default Actually yes

I did switch over to a Taylor 710ce which has wider string spacing than what I was normally used to, though it's actually easier to play and I'm using lights on it. I doubt it's arthritis though, I'm 18 years old.
Old 06-07-2016, 02:03 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noooooooooooooo View Post