The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 11-07-2017, 10:43 AM

Default Learning New Songs - Youtube?

I am not one of those special people blessed with a perfect ear and timing. I've played with people who can hear something once...then regurgitate it note for note no matter how intricate. I love playing with those people as I learn so much, but I am definitely not one of them. Being mostly self taught (I've taken about one year of lessons most recently), I am constantly challenged when I learn new songs, chord progressions, voicing, etc. and I need to continually work hard and practice, practice, practice. It does not come 'easy', but it is worth it in the end.

I play exclusively acoustic. When learning a new song, I generally need tab/chords to get myself up and running. I want to play the song exactly as I hear it on the album, the reason I love the song to begin with. I will surf Youtube to see how the original artist plays the song live (always looking for acoustic versions) and sometimes I'll watch other people who play the same song. (What did we ever do before Youtube?)

Now, some 'youtubers' are phenomenal, while others play out of tune, timing, and sometimes even the notes/chords/progression/key are completely wrong.

Does this latter category represent people taking 'artist freedom' to a new level or do people just want to see themselves on the internet?

Just curious on your own experiences.

Apologies if this thread is in the wrong section.
Clyde - GAce Fall-LTD
It's a girl! - 254ce DLX

Guitars Front | Guitars Back
Old 11-07-2017, 10:53 AM
Charter Member

Hi, I'm a "You-Tuber" and you can see some of my stuff there.