The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 06-16-2016, 04:13 AM

Default new user, new guitar

hello the group,
I'm really new to owning a guitar about a week now lol. been inspired by some music from martin harley and another fellow i found on the internet ed ricco. at the moment i am enjoying listening to the lap style of playing and i would like to learn how to play like that. so my first question is should i have lessons to learn how to play a guitar conventionally or jump in at the deep end so to speak ?
i bought an ibanez acoustic not quite sure of the model number but it has seven strings and an inbuilt pickup . not sure why i bought a seven string beastie to be honest but i figured it was a bonus to have an extra string at the time. well thanks in advance for any input you can contribute not doubt i'll have others questions in time
Old 06-16-2016, 09:04 AM

Welcome chardie!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chardie View Post
at the moment i am enjoying listening to the lap style of playing and i would like to learn how to play like that. so my first question is should i have lessons to learn how to play a guitar conventionally or jump in at the deep end so to speak ?
It is not required to learn how to play conventional guitar to play lap guitar. Lap style is an entirely different style of guitar. For lap style, the guitar is on the lap with the strings facing up, you play with a bar, and the guitar tuned to specific chords. Thing that may transfer over from regular guitar generally have to be relearned or adapted. You should not be at any disadvantage not having learned regular guitar first.

Quote: