The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Fingerstyle: Assigning Fingers to Strings vs Doing What Feels Right (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=448973)

jessbassdad 11-09-2016 07:14 AM

Fingerstyle: Assigning Fingers to Strings vs Doing What Feels Right

I am a longtime rhythm guitarist who is learning fingerstyle for the first time in my mid-50s. I have some catching up to do.

Right now I'm working my way through Justinguitar.com's lessons. He and others I've seen recommend generally assigning fingers to specific strings:

T - Thumb - bass notes on EAD
1- Index - G
2- Middle - B
3- Ring - High E

Of course Justin explains that are exceptions to these basic rules.

But I feel myself starting to use my ring finger more on other strings. And overall use my index finger less. Sort of blowing off the structure presented above.

So my question is this - as I learn this new skill should try to stick to this structure, or abandon all discipline and play what feels good? As long as it sounds good, right?

Just trying to head off bad habits before they take over completely.

Thoughts, anyone?

Thanks.

Guest4562 11-09-2016 07:22 AM

If I try to do that it means I'm thinking about it. If I think about it I'll mess it up. I just let my fingers do what they want as long as it sounds the way I want.

Mr. Jelly 11-09-2016 07:50 AM