The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Classical (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   How Long Did It Take You To Get To Grade 8? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=480913)

mrkpower 08-26-2017 04:54 AM

How Long Did It Take You To Get To Grade 8?

I am wondering how Long it took you to get to grade 8 in the classical guitar?

Can you share your experience?

Dave T 08-26-2017 10:09 AM

To the unwashed and self-taught out here in fly over country, you'll have to explain what "grade 8" is. (smile)

Dave

Bobbio84 08-26-2017 11:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave T (Post 5456792)
To the unwashed and self-taught out here in fly over country, you'll have to explain what "grade 8" is. (smile)

Dave

It's a grading system used for classical repertoire so that tests can be given appropriately for every level. I know here in Canada we have ten grades plus ARCT (associate of the Royal Conservatory of Toronto). You can work your way up the grades and take tests every few months when representatives from the ROyal Conservatory offer testing in your town. This may only be a Canadian system, I'm not really sure.

To answer the initial question...

I was at about grade 8 level when I finished high school and went to college to study music (Cambrian College in Sudbury). However, the teacher I had throughout high school was not classically trained, so when I got to college my teacher (who obviously was highly classically trained) put me down to grade 5 to rework basic technique. It then took me three years to get up to ARCT level.

In college I was playing lots... If I had to guess I would say 4-8 hours per day. So, the answer to the question depends on dedication, teacher, time etc...

Guest4562 08-26-2017 12:34 PM

Quote:

Dave

Agree. I got to grade 8 when I was seventeen, but only because I was getting too big for the desks.