The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Advise please: classical vs folk (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=252511)

Jamesguitar 05-22-2012 11:41 PM

Advise please: classical vs folk

As I understand it, classical guitars and folk guitars are different in that the former are easier for "fingering" playing style.

I am planning to buy a guitar. I want to learn to play classical, fingering style. So, I have been looking at classical guitars.

I've got two questions here.

1) How else are the two kinds of guitars different? Say, in terms of sound, especially?

2) If I do take a folk guitar and learn to play classical on it, shall I end up messed up in any way?

I am new with guitar. Am I asking silly questions?

Brant0086 05-22-2012 11:59 PM

A classical guitar is a nylon string guitar and a "folk" guitar is a steel string guitar. The difference in sound is astronomical. The folk guitar will be considerably more versatile, but the nylon string guitar is easier to fret (mash the strings down on the neck.) The steel string guitar will have a more full sound with plenty of high end, whereas the classical will be lean much more to a mid-range sound. In terms of sound, the folk is better, but you will have to deal with sore fingers.
As far as the sound being messed up playing classical music on a steel string, I don't see it as a problem. Both guitars are tuned the same and switching between one or the other is not a big task, once you have picked up some skills.