The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Acoustic Amplification (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Acoustic feedback problem (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35968)

rhudson 12-11-2003 07:51 AM

Acoustic feedback problem

I am fairly new at playing acoustic. I have recently acquired a very nice custom made grand auditorium with venetian cutaway. It has african rosewood back and sides, western light cedar top. Beautiful guitar and an absolute dream to play. I can't hardly put it down. I recently had my luthier, the one that built the guitar, to install a bridge saddle pickup. He installed the L.R. Baggs LB6 with the Baggs EQ box. It sounds great, plenty of varoooooom, but I have 2 little issues. Number 1 issue is feedback on the low C note. No matter whether on the A string or the Big E. I bought a feedback buster and it cut it way down, but the feedback on that one particular note is still there, though not nearly as bad.

The other problem, though not serious, is that the D string does not have quite the volume that the other strings have. Almost, but not quite.

I love playing acoustic. I absolutely love it. If I would have know it was this much fun, I would have started doing this years ago.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Richard

rhudson 12-12-2003 07:38 AM

Well, I may have solved part of my own problem with the feedback. Up until last night, I had only played the acoustic plugged in at church, where I sit very close to my amp. Last night, I played my first gig outside of the church and was out front walking around. Guess what, no feedback. Duh.

I really enjoyed playing last night. That was my first outside gig playing acoustic plugged in where I had everything working right. I took my electric along, but it never came out of the case. I enjoyed the acoustic so much, that I played the whole show with it.