The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Build and Repair (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Glue problem (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=496141)

Kieran 01-12-2018 11:28 AM

Glue problem

I am having problems gluing a thin ABS plastic purfling strip to a celluloid strip. I've tried superglue (CA), epoxy, acetone and some model makers glue and none of them will provide a decent bond.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Kieran

charles Tauber 01-12-2018 12:19 PM

Isn't ABS an unusual material for purling strips?

I have no experience in gluing ABS to celluloid, but you could try ABS cement, such as used for plumbing pipes. It's usually blue, I believe, making it probably not ideal for this application.

Kieran 01-12-2018 12:29 PM

Thanks Charles, yes abs is probably somewhat unusual, I bought it because I want to sandwich the red pearl celluloid strip between the black binding and a 0.5 mm black strip on the other side. Wish I had bought some ebony purfling instead.

charles Tauber 01-12-2018 12:37 PM

If the ABS is especially smooth, perhaps roughening its surface will give the adhesive more "bite".

I usually cut my own wood purflings from sheets of veneer or, more recently, fiber sold for that purpose. The veneer I use for black purflings is usually dyed maple and purchased already dyed. It is easily cut with a straight edge and a sharp knife. I make my own bindings, as well, but, a very different process.

Frank Ford 01-12-2018 12:49 PM

If memory serves, the Weld-on ascrylic cement from Stewmac does bite into ABS. Otherwise, I'd go to the plumbing supply place and get some universal clear pipe glue - I think there's a version that sticks to both PVC and ABS.

LouieAtienza 01-12-2018 01:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by charles Tauber (Post 5600334)
Isn't ABS an unusual material for purling strips?