The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   tom petty G chord (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296956)

radarlover 05-26-2013 11:29 PM

tom petty G chord

I was checking out Learning To Fly by Tom Petty today and messing around learning it on acoustic. I have been learning for about 3 years now. Anyway its a very simple chord progression that I got down quickly until......I needed to do the little forefinger on off part that he does on the b string while chording a weird 3 finger g chord. I can make the chord but for some reason its a stretch for me and I cannot play that simple little progression cleanly anymore. middle, ring and pinky fingers making the chord which leaves the forefinger free to accentuate on the b string. I have been playing open chords since I started.......why is it so hard for me to play this chord? Guess it shows serious lacking of dexterity because it is really kicking my ***.

Bern 05-26-2013 11:45 PM

Hmm...I don't quite understand. I don't really hear anything special played with the G chord. Chords are F C Am and the G with the doubling the 5th on the B string.

radarlover 05-27-2013 12:16 AM

from what I was seeing from him playing an acoustic version of the song he does a g chord with middle finger second fret a string, ring finger third fret e string and pinky third fret e string which leaves the forefinger free to do an on off thing on the first fret of the b string while strumming the chord. my main problem is just in making that funky g chord. I will look again but I thought I had the right chording

radarlover 05-27-2013 12:19 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxXBhKJnRR8

Dirk Hofman 05-27-2013 12:24 AM