The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   What is this chord> (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=485529)

El Conquistador 10-09-2017 12:29 PM

What is this chord>

I often use (what I call) a passing chord from A to wherever.

I go from A (X02220) to ? (X12020). What is this chord?

Steve

Cochese 10-09-2017 12:39 PM

B flat dim7th

El Conquistador 10-09-2017 02:13 PM

Perfect! Thanks.

Steve

SunnyDee 10-09-2017 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by El Conquistador (Post 5500815)

Steve

I really like this jamplay tool for figuring out things like that. https://www.jamplay.com/tools/guitar-chord-finder/

harpspitfire 10-09-2017 08:25 PM

beats me, im no musician, this could be number of different chords depending on the inversion- this has the note structure of a G diminished

JerrysGuitarBar 10-10-2017 12:56 AM

Just to let my pedantic side come out, it's usually named A#dim7. You're probably using it as a passing chord to link A to Bm? It's a favourite trick of James Taylor in the key of D, among others. Shower the People, for example.

(A)Foolish pride (A#dim7) When you're (Bm) all by

In the key of E it can join A to B7, as in Blue Christmas:

(A) Christmas of (A#dim7) white, ah but (B7) I'll have a ...

JonPR 10-10-2017 05:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by El Conquistador (Post 5500815)

Steve

As mentioned, it's where it's going that could determine the best name for the chord.
It's certainly a dim7 of some kind, and could be named after any of its notes (with some enharmonic flexibility too).