The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Acoustic Amplification (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Bose compact vs normal acustic amp? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=297016)

Petertd5 05-27-2013 01:04 PM

Bose compact vs normal acustic amp?

Hi. I started learning playing guitar a year ago and its so much fun, so now I am thinking about getting an amp. For me to play through and my wife to sing through.
I like the idea of Bose compact with a mixer so I can use it for so much more. Music in the garden and a PA if I get to play a gig( When I'm get good enough) But the main thing is so I can play through it and sing. If the Bose is in the smallest version with tweeters in the sub it doesnt take up much more space then a normal amp. Does anybody know if the Bose sound good sitting next to it or is a normal acoustic amp better?
Thanks

Cochese 05-27-2013 02:05 PM

I owned and used the original Bose PAS for a number of years. I haven't tried the compact personally but I'm sure it's in the same ball park sound wise. For your purposes I would say it is probably a bit better than a dedicated acoustic amp for your purposes. Guitar Center usually has the compact set up in their PA room. Try both and see what you prefer.

jseth 05-27-2013 08:15 PM

Admittedly, I am a bit biased, as I own and use a Bose L1 Model I Classic and am a HUGE fan of that system for acoustic guitar and voice... but I have to think that the Bose is going to sound better than an acoustic amplifier, and it will certainly spread the sound around a lot better; the Bose systems have incredible sound dispersion...