The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Custom Shop (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Carpathian spruce and night harvesting (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=338193)

frquent flyer 04-18-2014 04:06 AM

Carpathian spruce and night harvesting

Recently I read that Carpathian spruce is often harvested at night and Monks are asked to pray for woodcutters while in the forest. I tried to find this reading again but couldn't locate it. Can anyone help with information about this interesting practice.

jeastman 04-18-2014 04:35 AM

I'm not sure about the monks praying, but you will see "Moon Spruce" mentioned every once in a while. I have no experience or understanding how and if it affects anything, but I'll take any story people want to attach to a guitar I'm having built that's fun to tell:)

Wolfram 04-18-2014 05:53 AM

Ervin Somogyi has something to say on the matter on his blog.

dneal 04-18-2014 09:54 AM

There's a long thread by Rudi or Willi (from Blazer and Henkes) on the UMGF about Alpine spruce, the woodcutters who harvest it, when they cut it and why.

True or not, who knows. It's still a fun idea.

--edit--

Here's the link

geordie 04-18-2014 01:41 PM

hi FF, why is the QWERTY keys layed out like they are ?, look into it and you'll find there's practical reasons for people doing what and when they do.
Woodsmen have harvested timber for millennia so they cut when the trees when it's most practical to do it - requiring less time to 'season', stabilize and sell, they produce timber for all sorts of purposes eg spruce shingles for alpine roofs, now ya dont want these warping and letting the snow melt in :D
folks just wouldn't buy your product and you'd go outa business - practicalities.

http://www.culturalcapitalcounts.eu/...nt=1&detail=79

http://www.culturalcapitalcounts.eu/...awipd42vf6.JPG