The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Finding a great guitar is SO cool. Bourgeois 00 content (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181931)

Kitchen Guitars 04-12-2010 05:44 PM

Finding a great guitar is SO cool. Bourgeois 00 content

I found the Bourgeois Country Boy! Mahogany/Sitka What a sweet guitar.
I have 5-6 Yamaha Dreds to sell. I will keep my FG300 and Buddha. I just can't sell those 2. The others as sweet as they are they do not deserve the dust! I can't play them! I will also sell my Cargo. I love the tone. The scale very comfortable but when I have switch back problems! I started collecting Dreds 5 years ago. I love, love the tone and the size was OK. Then my shoulder started acting up on me. I have been hauling a heavy camera bag to gigs for 30 years. My shoulder said "enough"
So, when I play these great sounding Dreds I suffer then and later. Unfortunately, my shoulder doesn't know a OMD is not a Dred. So, my McKnight OMD even went away. I did order a smaller McKnight. Tim has been a dream making me a LM Wedge and scale and size that all work with me. BUT! that guitar is 2.5 years out.
My 00 Epiphone was a savior! Scale 24.75 and size are perfect. But, for me the nut is really too small 1.68. So, I started poking again. I tried Gibby 00's. I liked the cheap Epi better! Better than guitars in the thousands! Tone of the Epi ELOOVS is miles beyond the tag. But, then I tried an old 50's Martin 00. Wow. Wow.Wow! I loved it. SIZE, FEEL, TONE!
So, I started searching for a beat one so I could afford it. Or a Chinese version to hold me till the McKnight. But, most were 12 fretters. I like 14 frets.
In zoning in I have found I want;
00 - not wide
Short Scale for sure - 24.75 is great. 22.5 is too short for me. 24.9 will be fine I bet