The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   What Strings Do You Use (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=222684)

Alanbama 07-21-2011 08:32 AM

What Strings Do You Use

This may have been posted before, but I didn't see it so...
First, I started playing in the late 60's. Yeah, I know and dirt was already invented.:( Anyway, I have always loved Martin strings. Maquis to be exact. They sound so beautiful. Crisp highs and great lows. And in all those years I've tried everything that I know of. Now Martin has a coated version.(SP) It's less than a micron thick and is even on the plain strings. It's made from bronze and makes the plain strings look cool too.:up: Read about them on the Martin web site. (http://www.martinguitar.com/strings/...php?typ=Martin SP Marquis). If you've never tried Maquis, SP or not, I really urge you to at least try them. I use mediums ( 13-56) To my ears they sound a lot better than the original Elixers. Now what about you.

fishstick_kitty 07-21-2011 08:50 AM

<sarcasm>I don't think this has ever been discussed before</sarcasm> :)

I have been on a DR Rare kick lately...they sound good right off...whereas I think coated strings sound a little spanky until they get some oil on'em :)

smokeynichol 07-21-2011 09:05 AM

have tried!!!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alanbama (Post 2694958)
This may have been posted before, but I didn't see it so...