The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Show and Tell (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   When do my fingers stop hurting? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21012)

The Old Hacker 04-28-2003 05:00 AM

When do my fingers stop hurting?

I've been playing fingerstyle for about 18 months now, most days for a couple of hours. My fingers are beginning to get nimble, but how long does it take to build up the strength to, say, barre at the 1st fret without it hurting?

ME@VT 04-28-2003 06:31 AM

It varies with the person, and how much you practice it.

If you want to bar all the strings on the first fret practice it over and over. By playing other fingerstyle pieces you will no doubt be building up strength in your fingers, but if there is a specific technique you would like to work with and perform you have to practice that technique exclusively during some part of your practicing to develop and perfect it.

Hope that helps :)

Devon

DCW 04-28-2003 06:32 AM

It's hard to tell, and, after 19 years of playing guitar, I'd say that your fingers are always going to hurt from time to time. That 1st position barre gets somewhat better over time, and your hands do develop their muscles and your fingers eventually increase their callouses. The pain gets somewhat alleviated, but you always have to contend with it. Wait until you spend an entire Saturday picking with friends-it's a raw, stiff-fingered, but satisfying feeling.

jimklein 04-28-2003 07:22 AM

Cheat & use Elixir strings.

Stenevo 04-28-2003 09:13 AM

Barre chords on a 12 string always make my hand cramp after a while. I use stretching exercises before I start playing (when I remember). Don't over extend, it actually does more harm than good. I start with the thumb and then do the fingers and wrist. It helps, but nothing that I know works completely.

The Old Hacker 04-28-2003 11:56 AM