The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Tortoise shell (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261781)

turner28 08-10-2012 04:24 PM

Tortoise shell

First off, I am NOT a proponent of using such a material for the obvious ethical/moral/legal/etc reasons...I am not trying to start a debate, argument, nor upset anyone regarding this 'material'

...however, that said, to someone who has never touched tortoise shell anything, what makes it 'desirable'? I've seen picks made of this 'material', the pick guard on my Martin is PLASTIC, though made to look look like tortoise shell...is this all just for looks? Are there other reasons than look that people used to desire picks, etc made from the shell of a tortoise?

Where did this tradition begin?

Turner.

SuperB23 08-10-2012 04:32 PM

Most people who love them think they sound best. They have a great sound and feel and they have a natural grip when wet. My TS Picks are the only ones I like better than Blue Chip. I'm not sure where the tradition began but I can tell you Tortoise shell makes great sounding picks. They are illegal to buy and sell.

HHP 08-10-2012 04:44 PM

The dilemma here is that some will weigh in and say, perhaps rightly so, that it is a excellent pick material. As much as we would like to think we are just trading in "old" shell products, the mystique surrounding it simply encourages poaching today. Some day, the subject will just not come up anymore and that will be fine.

J Patrick 08-10-2012 04:48 PM