The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   PLAY and Write (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Online Acoustic Blues Lessons - Beyond Beginner? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=275861)

mdutr0 12-13-2012 09:33 AM

Online Acoustic Blues Lessons - Beyond Beginner?

I have certainly learned a lot from some of the great online lessons when it comes to acoustic blues and I am very grateful to the gracious people who took the time to make and post those videos on sites like Youtube.

But it seems like the vast majority are at the beginner level. Many of the lessons assume you have never played the blues before. And while that level of instruction is certainly a valuable service, I find myself looking for.... more.

At this point I have been playing the acoustic guitar for 18 years. I know the basic blues progressions, I know what a turnaround is, and I am well on my way to proficiencey when it comes to independent thumb and finger movement on my right hand. I know the blues scales well, and their extentions. I am still working on speed, but fluidity is pretty good. I improvise fairly well for someone who usually plays by himself. I no longer rely on tab and do most of my learning through listening and watching.

I'm no master by any means! But I play/practice a lot and I'm half-way decent (I hope).

So what's the next step? Where do I go to learn more? Does anyone know of good resources for intermediate/advanced acoustic blues students?

Free is always good, but I am willing and able to pay for lessons for the right program.

Greg580 12-13-2012 12:20 PM

have you looked at truefire.com? if you sign up its free for 30 days, plenty of time to decide if you want to pay for a lesson program or membership. Plenty of blues options there.

revtintin 12-13-2012 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Greg580 (Post 3276373)