The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Neck sizes!! I have small hands... (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=122675)

jn0 04-03-2008 12:23 AM

Neck sizes!! I have small hands...

Hi all,

I am new to playing the guitar and I'm about to invest in my very first one! I have small hands though, and I would like to know a good size neck for me. Is 2.0-2.5 inches pretty small for a neck? Any advice will do! Also...any suggestions for recommendations on brand or type would be great!

-jn0

Jeff M 04-03-2008 12:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jn0 (Post 1437602)
Hi all,

I am new to playing the guitar and I'm about to invest in my very first one! I have small hands though, and I would like to know a good size neck for me. Is 2.0-2.5 inches pretty small for a neck? Any advice will do! Also...any suggestions for recommendations on brand or type would be great!

-jn0

2-2.5 inch what??

NEcks are generally measured at the nut and at the bridge.
A pretty standard nut width is 1 3/4".
Pretty standard bridge width is 2 1/4"

What complicates the issue is that guitars also come with different neck profiles. Some are fat and shaped like an oval. Some are skinny and shaped like a "D".
Some can be "V" shaped. Some are "C" shaped. All affect how the neck feels.
Which is "best" for you? Nobody can tell but you. Get out to a guitar store and play sample as many as you can.

Rainbow 04-03-2008 12:41 AM

I have small hands too!! I am pretty fussy about neck profile and nut width.
Like what Jeff said, not only the nut width plas a part, the neck profile is very important too.

Up to day, I have only like the neck profile of my Doerr, my friend's Ryan and Olson. Amazing neck profile but out of reach for me.