The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Best Martin for finger picking (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=203765)

chum66 12-31-2010 06:12 AM

Best Martin for finger picking

what is the generally accepted best Martin model for fingerpicking?

I just started playing guitar (few months ago) and figured I am mostly a finger picker.... Have a D-16.. love the sound of it.. would love to shop for a good Martin finger picking model if D-16 is not it. (have some difficulties picking it as the strings are quite close to each other.... what's the term.. nut width??!)

thanks!

Garthman 12-31-2010 06:28 AM

There really isn't any such thing as a "fingerpicking" guitar - you can fingerpick on any guitar. Some people prefer a wider neck - 45mm is often cited - but I fingerpick on all my guitars with neck widths ranging from 40mm to 52mm.

lennylux 12-31-2010 06:32 AM

As said there is none, it's a personal choice thing.... If you feel that it's a bit narrow for you you may prefer to seek out a Martin model with a wider neck, if you like playing it and are comfortable with the spacing then it's the model for you.

teleguy 12-31-2010 06:50 AM

OM Baby!

Something in an OM or 000 size with a 1 & 3/4" nut - IMHO. Spruce top and mahogany body - also IMO. Cut-away or non-cutaway.

rmyAddison 12-31-2010 06:51 AM

Chum,

Congratulations on taking up the guitar, don't give up, it can be a lifetime joy!

There is no "best" fingerstyle Martin, and you certainly can play any style on any guitar, they just have different strengths and weaknesses, it all comes down to preferences and opinions.