The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Acoustic Amplification (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Solo folk-punk looking for basic amplification explanations!!! (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123936)

TheRebelCounty 04-17-2008 10:40 AM

Solo folk-punk looking for basic amplification explanations!!!

Hey guys! I play one-man acoustic music which I call The Rebel County (www.myspace.com/craigneedles)... Please be patient with me because I play and write songs I am extremely proud of, but when it comes to acoustic amplification, I don't know a single thing! I'm looking to play as many shows as possible this Summer but I need to figure a lot of stuff out about all of this first... I know there are a lot of discussions on here about this topic, but again, I need the complete basics!

First of all, I'm a 20-year-old college student on a verrry low budget. I've been told that it would be best to buy a PA, not an acoustic amp. Here's my first question: Is it possible to just get one powered speaker, use a small Behringer mixer I already have, and get both decent vocal and guitar sound through just that? Also, does it all just hook up with guitar cables?

Which leads me to my next question: Most places I will be playing probably have their own PA... So, how exactly do I hook up to a house PA? Does the guitar cable go from my guitar straight to the soundboard/mixer and that's pretty much it? Basically, when I'm playing a venue with a PA, do I pretty much just show up with my guitar and a guitar cable and nothing else? Also, if the soundboard/mixer happens to be far from the stage, how does that work?