The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Acoustic Amplification (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Fishman Aura Spectrum vs Zoom A3 vs ? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=455613)

hat 01-09-2017 05:44 AM

Fishman Aura Spectrum vs Zoom A3 vs ?

I'm currently using a Fishman Spectrum, and so far am quite happy with it. However, one thing I've noticed on the Zoom A3 is it has a boost function which would be nice. Has anyone done a comparison of the two as far as the modeling, and other functions? How is the build quality of the Zoom?

buzzardwhiskey 01-09-2017 08:07 AM

I have no experience with the Spectrum, but I own the Zoom A3. For it's current price, this unit stands alone in the field. Seriously, nothing comes close. Two channels, phantom power, dozens of model and body-type combinations (sculpted EQ's), and hundreds of effects combinations all in a reasonably well built unit. Is it THE answer?... No. But it probably warrants consideration.

Puerto Player 01-09-2017 09:35 AM

Well, I've had both, not completely sold on either. I still have the Fishman but probably not too much longer. It colors the sound a lot and I can't really find a tone I like more than the pre-amped tone of my guitar with a FRM RNP (Really Nice Preamp). As it's a two-channel pre-amp I also run my vocals through it too, and for me, it's a serious step above both the Zoom and the Fishman. It just gives a "feel" to the tone that is exactly what I was looking for.

2Fenderman 01-09-2017 09:50 AM