The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-07-2012, 07:04 PM

Default Strengthening fingers for barre chords?

This question came to me while reading the thread on playing F chords, but rather than hijack that thread...

I've been playing off and on for the past 20 years, and through sheer determination, I've gotten to where I can make most barre chords sound pretty good. (Still have trouble barring C shapes, but it's not often that I need to do that.) However, I occasionally run into a song that requires pretty much nothing BUT barre chords - a song I played a few weeks ago comes to mind which pretty much had nothing but F and B-flat chords. When I get done playing something like that, my left hand just downright hurts. Any suggestions for strengthening those muscles to be able to play barre chords longer?
Old 06-07-2012, 08:36 PM
Charter Member

The best excercise of course is doing barre chords! Make sure you the guitar action is set up as low as possible without getting string/fret buzzes.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 06-07-2012, 08:39 PM

i started this thread with the best advice i know of:

http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...d.php?t=252525
Old 06-07-2012, 09:29 PM
Charter Member

Hi Trabb,

Yes, I have been there... and your hand just aches for a while. And my only solution for that was to keep playing the song day after day until the ache wasn't so bad. You just get stronger, but it takes time to build up the strength. And when you don't keep doing that particular song that needed all those barre chords, you tend to lose some of that strength.

- Glenn
Old 06-07-2012, 09:57 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by trabb View Post